Phantom and Week 2

So I’ll just briefly sum up last week since I didn’t really have a chance to post about last week. It was week 2 of my internship and it was a fun week! I spent most of the days in the office, and only had to go to one session. I worked on a lot of different things! I wrote articles for their website, I helped update some of their social media outlets, I imputed names into the databases, and I started a project for a bid that they are working on. The bid is to get funding to set up sports sessions in one of the more deprived areas of the city. It’s cool to work on a project this big and to get a feel for how much research a project can entail.

Then the coolest part of the week (not including the weekend) was that we got to see Phantom of the Opera in the West End (the equivalent to the US’s Broadway). I’ve never seen the show and was really excited! The show was amazing in every aspect. The singing was beautiful, although at some points it was difficult to understand what was going on because of their accents. But everyone’s voice was just so beautiful. The set just kept surprising me because they kept adding more and more pieces to it. Or when the scene changed the set would also change to another massive backdrop, or lights, or candles that appeared out of the ground. The boat that the Phantom rides to get to his lair just seemed to seamlessly float on the stage. The chandler was exquisite as well! The way it dropped down from the ceiling and went back up was just so cool and quite surprising. I didn’t know they could lift something that big all the way up to the ceiling above the audience.  At one point a gargoyle statue that was positioned on the top of the stage dropped down during one of the scenes and as soon as the main characters existed, the Phantom appeared out of it! The whole show was just amazing and I’m so happy that I had the opportunity to see it.  Next post, Amsterdam with many pictures to follow!

4 thoughts on “Phantom and Week 2

  1. Dad says:

    Sounds like the internship is getting busy. What is their website? I’d love to read your article.
    Any you’re right, Phantom is an AMAZING show; especially the sets and scenery. Can’t wait to hear about Amsterdam, and about the Tour de France de London!

  2. Katie, What great business experience you’r getting. And I’m so glad you got to see Phantom. It’s one of my all-time favorites. The music is so beautiful and that chandelier was truly amazing, done at a time back then when that sort of theatrical action was very unusual

    • Dad says:

      That’s so true, Grandma! Those Andrew Lloyd Webber shows were revolutionary. Didn’t you take us to see Evita when it came out? Cats, Phantom; I can’t believe they’ve lasted so long and the young folks like Katie are still amazed by them.

  3. Katie, You’re getting some great business experience and I’m so glad you got to see Phantom. It’s one of my all-time favorites. The music is so beautiful and that chandelier was truly amazing, done at a time back then when that sort of theatrical action was very unusual.

Leave a comment